Global Investor Forum Contact

Diederik Dippel

Neurologist, Professor of acute treatment of neurovascular diseases, Co-director of the Erasmus MC Stroke Center


14:15 - 15:25
From research to innovation

Diederik WJ Dippel is a vascular neurologist and professor of acute treatment of neurovascular diseases. He wrote a PhD thesis on decision analysis in the clinical neurosciences. He has (co-) authored more than 300 scientific papers on stroke diagnosis and treatment.
He was PI of several investigator-driven multicenter randomized clinical trials including the game-changing MR CLEAN (Multicenter Randomized Clinical trial of Endovascular treatment for acute ischemic stroke in the Netherlands).
He is now Research Leader of CONTRAST, the Collaboration for New Treatments for Acute Stroke, a large private-public funded body uniting clinical and experimental academic researchers in the Netherlands.


A new, effective treatment for stroke: the impact and spin-off of endovascular thrombectomy 
Every 15 minutes, someone in the Netherlands is struck by stroke, which is caused by an occluded blood vessel in the brain. This means severe handicap for every second person and death for every tenth. The MR CLEAN trial was the first study worldwide to prove that endovascular thrombectomy not only reopens the blood vessel, but also improves recovery, The investigators have now set up the large, charity- and industry-supported CONTRAST consortium to further improve treatment of acute stroke.

Niels Chavannes
Maarten van Dongen
Ingmar de Gooijer
Mark van Houdenhoven
Sint Maartenskliniek

Henk van Houten

Arthur Lahr
Kiadis Pharma

Jos Malda
UMC Utrecht
Eveliene Manten-Horst
AYA Jongvolwassen & Kanker

Madelon Maurice
UMC Utrecht

Tom Miller
GreyBird Ventures
Edwin Moses
Kees Recourt
Mibiton Foundation

Maurits van Selms

Marianne van der Steen
Markwin Velders
Kite Pharma
Werner Verbiest
Janssen Diagnostics
Eline Vrijland-van Beest
Sponsors & Partners
Main partner
Host sponsor
Host sponsor
Host sponsor
Platinum sponsor
Gold sponsor
Award sponsor
Your logo?
© 2018 Innovation for Health